Dodging the Raindrops

By Friday evening, I’d had plenty of time to recover from Skogg’s.  I was looking forward to some speed-work, down at Duniway track, led by Red Lizard running coach, Rick Lovett.  We meet there at 6:15pm Tuesdays and Fridays, rain or shine.

That’s the idea, anyway.

As the grey day turned into a wet and windy night, I felt my motivation… not-so-much going out the window…as going to bed and hiding under the blankets.  Fortunately, I’d gotten some buddies to commit to practice.  And we were not going to let each other down!  I arrived at Becky Jean’s place, where we basically decided to bag it, before changing our minds again and heading out the door.

I laughed out loud.

“What’s so funny?”  She asked.

“I can’t believe we are doing this.”  Neither of us would be running (in this weather) on our own.

When we got to the field, there was Coach Rick, hiding out in his car.  A lone runner was circling the track in the dark rain, which was coming down hard and fast.  He was one of us.

Jack came into focus as he finished his lap.  I remembered him from last week, his first day with the Lizards.  He’s young and speedy.  We joined him for a mile warmup around the track, and some chit-chat.

“I’m so glad you guys are here,” said Jack, happy to have someone to suffer with.  “I was just curled up in my car in the fetal position, reading the bible.”  He was serious!

“You must’ve been praying to God,” I said between giggles, “because we almost didn’t make it.”

Within a few minutes, my buddy JB and another Red Lizard, a young mom named Sara, showed up.  We did our strides together, then ran a series of 8×400 meters (with each 400m followed by another 400m of recovery).  By the time we got to the end, the rain stopped and we were having one heckuva good time.  Becky Jean, who hadn’t set foot on a track in longer than she cared to admit, had the biggest smile across her face.  I had to laugh…

“I can’t believe we almost didn’t go.”

The End

3 thoughts on “Dodging the Raindrops

  1. Pingback: URL
  2. I am so glad that we went! COMMITMENT to the COMMITMENT. Running in the rain was incredibly refreshing, even though we were not very excited about it at first! I figured that I would be really sore when I woke up on Saturday, and was surprised when I woke up with minimal fatigue. Throughout the day I could feel my muscles beginning to really tighten up. I woke up this morning and could hardly move! It hurts so good!! :)

Leave a Reply

