Love Notes

I love good questions.  They get my writing juices flowing in such a way that… it makes me happy.  Yesterday was one of those days…

My friend wrote:

“Random deep question. What are your thoughts on the afterlife?  Just asking cuz my cat was mauled to death by a dog and died in my arms.”

My immediate response:

On the spot I’d say – don’t forget – we are mostly non-matter.  The body will decompose but one may continue to exist as long as they have made a sustainable/lasting imprint on the universe.  Your cat will exist (in some form) as long as you remember it.  Also, he/she continues to exist (in another form) because the effect it had on your life will never be undone.  To me, the energy we transmit doesn’t just represent us.

It IS us.

This is one of the things that excites me about painting, photography and writing.  If I am able to capture a mood, moment, message or a feeling, and share it with a world of people that will be here long after I’m gone…. will I not still exist in some way?  If someone gives voice to an idea that has great resonance with the People, does their energy cease to exist, because they die?  No.  But I wouldn’t call it an afterlife.  It’s life, and death is just a part of it.

3 thoughts on “Love Notes

  1. Amazing! You have really done a superb job with the website. Your devotion and eye for details are all over it. I bet you are pretty much a pro, or you could have just been running a blog for some time now now. At any rate, I have browsed through your articles and they made me grin. The way you link with the viewer is awesome. You have a good deal of potential. Dont stop!
    If at some point you would be interested in writing some more on the side, this company is generally looking for more freelance writers: http://jobs.ncsall.com. You should let these folks know I highly recommend you. Email me with any questions.

Leave a Reply

