Bumps in the Road

Friday, after one of the best days EVER – I was in a terrible bike accident. Riding high from my PRP feature (posted earlier that day), was on my way home from a glorious evening of pickup kickball at Irving Park, it was dark. That’s when, supposedly, I hit a bump that sent me flying.

There were some impressive scrapes and bruises on my legs and a few little ones on my hands, but it seems my face broke the fall. There were no witnesses and I do not remember the accident itself. One second I was riding my bike. Next, I’m sitting in the street covered in blood, feeling my teeth clink around like a sack of marbles. What a nightmare.

Within a couple minutes, people came from down the block to assist. “Do you need help?”

“Yes please help! Call 911.”

Grief set in almost immediately. What had I done to my face? I knew it was very bad. The ambulance swept me away, leaving my bike with the firefighters who were also quick to arrive on the scene. One of them, oddly enough, was also named Audrey.

Lots of needles poking. Lots of IV medicine, painkillers, tests. Instructions to do this and not to do that. My nurse was a little harsh but that was okay because the doctor yanking out my teeth and stitching my bottom lip was super cute. Wanted to hold his hand, but the nurse wouldn’t let me.

Was in the ER for six hours before they sent me home in a cab, to wake up Mom and Violet with my horrific face.   IMG_20140518_080252 What makes this incident amazing, is the immense outpouring of love and support from my friends, family, and strangers alike. At times it’s overwhelming. I want to extend my deepest gratitude to everyone who has been here for me through this process. It’s been a painful last few days but I feel like I’ve got a new lease on life. With my birthday coming in one week, there is hardly a better reminder that now is a time to celebrate.

So? I’ve hit a tremendous bump in the road. I’ll be okay. I’ll have a new smile (eventually). My scrapes and bruises will heal, I’ll be playing kickball again in no time! And I’ll be much more careful when biking. Especially at night.

Part 2 of this story, a few months later… Bone graft surgery! >>> Freak in the Mirror

3 thoughts on “Bumps in the Road

  1. I’ve had a couple of head over handlebar episodes in my life. I hope you’re doing better, and hope the healing and fixing is coming along. May I suggest, is learning how to twist and roll when violently separated from your bike. Take the impact with your shoulder or back. Saved me those times. Hopefully we’ll figuratively bump into you at WNBR next year.

Leave a Reply

